Latest Tweets

10th Pune International Film Festival

January 12 – 19, 2012

What’s It All About

The 10th Pune International Film Festival (PIFF) is slated to be held from January 12-19 in Pune, Maharshtra. This year a line up of around 200 films from more than 40 countries are scheduled to be screened at the festival.

Organised jointly by the Pune Film Foundation and the Government of Maharashtra, the films will be shown at ten screens at six venues across the city, namely CityPride (Kothrud), R-Deccan (Deccan Gymkhana), CityPride Abhiruchi, E-Square, Inox and NFAI auditorium.

In order to commemorate 75 years of Indo-German relations, 47 films from Germany will be showcased including films made by Werner Herzog and Wim Wenders. The highlight of the festival will be Pina, a film by Wim Wenders in 3D.

The Retrospectives category will showcase films of the famous Japanese director Ozu and Taiwanese director Hsiao-Hsien Hou. Other categories include Indian Cinema Today and Marathi Cinema Today, while documentaries on famous people made by the Films Division, and select movies on members of the film fraternity, who died during the past year, will also be screened.

Highlights of the week-long fest include presentation of the Lifetime Achievement and the SD Burman Awards for creative music and sound, selection of best international (World), Marathi and international Marathi film, lectures, discussions and exhibitions, and competitions under various sections.

Watch Out For!

The 10th edition of PIFF has introduced a new feature, the Vijay Tendulkar Memorial Lecture. There will be discussions and exhibitions on various film-related topics through the week. Eminent film personalities will deliver lectures on various aspects of cinema.

The World Competition section will feature 14 films and the Marathi section will screen seven films, while students will screen 13 and eight films in the live action and animation categories respectively.

Competition Films

World Competition Section

Nader And Simin: A Separation (Iran)

The Albanian (Germany)

Joanna (Poland)

Alzheimer (Iran)

Sparrow (Russia)

Voice Over (Bulgaria)

Black Thursday (Poland)

My Little Princess (France)

The Magic of Hope (Spain/Ireland)

Amnesty (France/Turkey)

Diago (China)

The Precinct (Georgia/Azerbaijan)

Sound of Love (India), and If Not Us Who (Germany)

Marathi Competition Section

Shala (Sujay Dahake)

Deool (Umesh Kulkarni)

Jana Gana Mana (Amit Abhyankar)

Baalgandharva (Ravi Jadhav)

Ha Bharat Maza (Sumitra Bhave and Sunil Sukhatankar)

Khali Doka Var Paay (Ajay Singh)

Mukti (Machindra Morey)

Anonymous's picture