Latest Tweets

Happy Birthday 2 Us!

Super on screen: ‘September 19, 2009’

Fade-in to a busy industrial floor. Steadicam towards a gleaming printing machine. It is spewing out sheets of glossy, printed paper at a rapid pace. Zoom-in to one such sheet. It reads, ‘Box Office India’.

Cut To

Super on screen: ‘Two Years Later…’

And here we are! Two years of Box Office India. Admittedly, not a very substantial number in the larger, cosmic scheme of time frames. But, hey! We are in a business that more often than not revolves around a single weekend. A trade where a two-and-a-half hour, ‘first-day-first show’ decides the fate of what a whole army of people has been working on for months, if not years.

So given that yardstick, two years is certainly worth celebrating – especially since it has been such a wonderful journey with you as supportive and encouraging fellow-travelers. To do so, we have a fabulous issue lined up for you.

This bumper issue operates at various levels. One, it has most of our key regular features that we bring you every week – reviews, news, collections and the like. Second, we have special editions of two of our popular columns: Imagine…The Future Of Entertainment and Hunt Is Over.

At the heart of this issue is an extensive and exhaustive collections/data section. This really is a treasure trove of extremely important and interesting information and I am sure a lot of you will be preserving your copy as a ready-reckoner. Don’t take my word for it, turn to Page 83 to check it out for yourself!

Finally, what else is the industry except for the people who constitute it? And by extension, how else would we be celebrating this anniversary if not for the warm and generous support of the fraternity? We are extremely proud and grateful to host in this special issue, guest columns by the crème de la crème of our industry.

A huge ‘Thank you!’ to our guest columnists, in alphabetical order (which, incidentally, is also the order in which their columns appear): Mr Ajay Devgn, Mr Akshay Kumar, Mr Alok Tandon, Mr Amit Khanna, Mr Amitabh Bachchan, Mr Amitabh Vardhan, Mr Anees Bazmee, Mr Anil Arjun, Mr Anubhav Sinha, Mr Anurag Kashyap, Mr Apurv Nagpal, Mr Ashish Patil, Ms Asin, Mr Atindriya Bose, Mr Bhushan Kumar, Dr C R Sridhar, Mr Chris Dodd, Mr David Dhawan, Mr Devang Sampat, Mr Dhilin Mehta, Ms Ekta Kapoor, Mr Emraan Hashmi, Ms Farah Khan, Mr Farhan Akhtar, Mr Ganesh Jain, Ms Gitianjali Sehgal, Mr Gourav Sain, Mr Jagdish Kumar, Ms Kangna Ranaut, Mr Karan Johar, Ms Kareena Kapoor, Ms Kiran Rao, Mr Madhur Bhandarkar, Ms Mallika Sherawat, Mr Merzin Tavaria, Mr Mukesh Bhatt, Mr Mukul Deora, Mr N R Pachisia, Ms Pankaja Thakur, Mr Prasoon Joshi, Mr Pritam, Ms Priyanka Chopra, Mr Raj Kumar Gupta, Mr Ramesh Taurani, Mr Ritesh Sidhwani, Mr Rohit Shetty, Mr Sajid Nadiadwala, Mr Salim Khan, Mr Sameer Pitalwala, Mr Sanjay Gupta, Mr Shah Rukh Khan, Mr Siddharth Roy Kapoor, Ms Sonakshi Sinha, Mr Soumen G Choudhury, Mr Subhash Ghai, Mr Subhash Kapoor, Mr Sunil Lulla, Mr Sunil Punjabi, Mr Uday Singh, Mr Vashu Bhagnani, Ms Vidya Balan, Mr Vikram Bhatt and Mr Vikram Malhotra

And, of course, the biggest ‘Thank You!’ is for you, dear reader. You are our raison d'être…you make this possible.

As a special treat for our website followers, starting today, every day we shall upload two columns from our anniversary issue, in the same order that they appear in the magazine. So let’s get this going with Ajay Devgn and Akshay Kumar!


Anonymous's picture