Latest Tweets


A R Murugadoss, who directed Ghajini, returns to Bollywood after a considerable gap with Holiday, a remake of his own Tamil film Thuppaakki.

Hit pair Akshay Kumar and Sonakshi Sinha play the leads and Pritam Chakraborty has composed the music. The album features five original compositions, each one written by Irshad Kamil. The opening number Aaj dil shayrana by Arijit Singh is delightfully catchy. Pritam’s structure of this song is unconventional. He uses the violin and harmonium effectively to create a breezy number. It also helps immensely that Arijit Singh is rendering this cheer ful song. Aditi Singh Sharma and Piyush Kapoor join Arijit Singh in Blame the night, a techno club number. Unlike Pritam’s earlier dance numbers, this one lacks punch. The chorus and rap portions sound a little jaded but the overall quality of singing makes it an above-average one.

It’s great to listen to Kunal Ganjawala – he hardly sings in Bollywood these days. Ganjawala renders Tu hi to hai in his trademark stylish voice. However, the composi-tion packed with techno elements doesn’t do complete justice to his strong vocals. There’s another version by Benny Dayal which is quite lacklustre.

Arijit Singh is brilliant in the melancholic Ashq na ho, the highlight number of this album. Pritam weaves Kamil’s wonderful words in an evocative, lilting melody. It’s a sombre song that stays with you, unlike Palang tod, which despite the enthusiastic vocals of Mi-ka

Singh and Ritu Pathak, falls flat. The music of Holiday is definitely not one of Pritam’s best works; neither is it a crashing bore.

Verdict: Passable.

Anonymous's picture