Latest Tweets

India Film Project announces its jury for Season 9

India Film Project, the community of 6.5 a million filmmakers and content creators will be coming together on October 12 and 13 in Mumbai for Asia’s largest content creation festival.

India Film Project (IFP) since its maiden year is recognized for bringing on board jury members with creative, impactful and cerebral expertise. Names like Shyam Benegal, Ketan Mehta, Sudhir Mishra, Sriram Raghavan, Madhur Bhandarkar, Tigmanshu Dhulia, Shoojit Sircar, Hansal Mehta, Vetri Maaran, Bejoy Nambiar, Vikramaditya Motwane, Guneet Monga and many more have been a part of IFP’s Jury in past eight seasons. 

This year too, IFP has got some renowned names from the industry and announced its much-anticipated jury, who will lead and guide the aspiring talents participating in the series of exciting and top the notch challenges.  

Apurva Asrani, National award-winning filmmaker, of classics like Shahid, Satya, Aligarh and many more, expresses his collaboration with IFP by saying, “I have followed the growth of India Film Project since its inception. It has emerged as a platform for industry professionals to exchange ideas and also, interact with bright and budding talent from the country. 'Short film' is a space of utmost imagination and being a film editor and screenwriter, I am looking forward to seeing how participants deal with the criticality of communicating an idea in fewer words, shots or scenes.”

Next panellist, the director of Parineeta Pradeep Sarkar shared, “I am judging short films for the first time so looking forward to judging these bunches of young talents. Short films have become a craze now and the concepts are almost fantastic. One thing I strongly believe is in the usage of this platform. If you get the Azadi to express yourself, you don’t have to go completely berserk and show things explicitly. So, my key criterion while judging is a nice content-oriented film because the content is always the king."

Screenwriter Saiwyn Quadras of Mary Kom and Neerja fame, says “IFP is an amazing platform for creators, writers and filmmakers and I am thrilled to be associated with the project this year and excited to help discover new writing talent because the industry is in desperate need of writers with a fresh new voice”

Anjali Menon, Malayalam film director and National Award winner says, “IFP is working to create a film viewing and making a culture that goes beyond the superficial. I am impressed by the daily content they generate for discussion among film lovers thereby empowering them to become filmmakers. I look forward to some fantastic content being generated on this forum!”

The jury also includes writers Bhavani Iyer and Amandeep Singh, poets Yahya  Bootwala and Jidnya Sujata a Sonchiriya and Ishqiya director Abhishek Chaubey, the Ishqiya director. Chaubey says, “Very happy and excited to be a part of this year's 50-hour filmmaking challenge. Curious to see what the filmmakers have on offer and credit to the India film project for organising this year on end, it's of great benefit to young filmmakers out there”


For more updates, stay tuned to Box Office India. 

Anonymous's picture