Latest Tweets


The music of Shamitabh was launched with much fanfare in the presence of legends like Ilayaraaja, Rajinikanth, Kamal Hassan, Amitabh Bachchan, Gulzar and more. Not only the grand music launch, but the fact that Shamitabh also marks the 1000th album composed by Ilayaraja escalated the expectation of the listeners. Lending a ear to the six track album, Sha sha mi mi, Piddly and Sannata comes out as the notable numbers.

The album kicks off with the celebratory number Ishq e phillum, an ode to the film and the industry by the maestro. The song features impressive composition essentially dominated by heavy bass and synth filled tunes. Written by Swanand Kirkire, the song doesn’t fall into his typical commercial number and features dramatic phonetician of Hindi language. The vocals of Suraj Jagan smear the rock and grunge feel in the situational track.

The next song Sha sha mi mi talks about the stardom and is probably also the title track of the album. Sung by Caralisa Monteiro, the number is quite catchy and hummable. The retro disco style compliments the script and features some peculiar contemporary techno tunes. But, the avid fan of Ilayaraaja can snatch a glimpse of maestros symphonic tunes in the interludes. Kausar Munir has creatively played with the word Shamitabh by breaking each syllable.

The promotional track of the film Piddly, which means miniscule, immediately draws the listener’s attention as it features the vocals of Amitabh Bachchan. It seems like the song is designed to suit baritone of Bachchan. Giving the prime focus to the vocals, the maestro has kept the composition minimum by employing some friendly and repetitive tunes. The minimal composition might dishearten some of Ilayaraaja’s fans.

Sannata, sung by Shruti Haasan is quite edgy, filled with loud, bold and upbeat tunes. The composers play with the electronic sounds of the track, which is a remix of his ’80s classic Aasaiya kathula thoothu vittu. Hassan’s vocals complement the composition and goes along with the context of the script. The lyrics refer to all the great talents of the industry like Javed Akhtar, Amitabh Bachchan, Shreya Ghoshal and more.

The album ends with two tracks from Suraj Jagan – Thappad and Lifebuoy. While Jagan collaborates with Earl D’souza for Thappad that features some great rhythm and funky lyrics, Lifebuoy has Jagan going solo. The lyrics of Lifebuoy has quirks and follows the musical scale of the album.

Verdict: The album features great situational tracks that complement the script.

Anonymous's picture